Is Christmas once a year?

One would have thought that since the center is on break, I would have more time to devote to this blog. I thought so too, but it is not looking like that will be the case. With a child like Ziim, I find out that having and keeping to routine helps to make the going easier. Thus though we are supposed to be on holiday, her routine has to be kept to. This means I still have to do her almost three hours daily main therapy, give her medications at the right time, feed her at the scheduled time, make out time to do other sensitization, position her therapeutically, play with/for her , oh she loves that, put her to bed at 8pm, and above all make time to spend with He that owns our lives.  And have I told you that Ziim loves going out! Oh she does, she loves it when mummy speeds! Hm.. Ziim, so out we have to go even if we just drive around. Though most times we have good reasons to go out.

Thursday was such a day, Ziim had doctor’s appointment at   the Harvey Road Child and Adolescent Center, the Oshodi annex. We have been going to the clinic since about a year ago when I needed a second opinion on management of her seizures.   The situation there is almost like that in LUTH; for an eight o’ clock appointment, you will want to get there as early as you can to be sure to leave early.  We had left home about 6.20a.m, the traffic was not bad so we were there 6.50a.m, good. I placed my card, taking time to note the number of people ahead of us; three of them, very good. I noted the Christmas decoration and the arrangement of the chairs and wondered whether the clinic was holding.  I went back to the car, waited till 7a.m, breakfast and medication time. That over, I braced myself up for a long wait. The doctors usually come in about 9 a.m.

I was surprised when at 7.30 the nurses started weighing the children, usually this was done about  8 a.m or a little later.  Then I noticed the beehive of activities, chairs and tables being rearranged, decorative materials being placed on the walls and windows, oh, there is going to be a party, and someone mentioned that the honorable minister of health was coming from Abuja and he was to be there anytime.  At 8.a.m the doctors were there and the nurse started calling out patients to different doctor’s room!!   Ha!! this was something!!  At 8.45, we walked in to see the doctor, Magic!. I have my reason for being   there so I was not going to waste time.

The doctor looks through the file;  makes an effort to call Chizimuzondu, I help him out. How old is she? Silently, it’s in the file, loudly, five, actually five and half. So how is she doing? I should say very well, we have not have a grand mal episode of seizure in the last five months, the twitches are far and in between, in fact I hardly see them.  Good. We talk about interventions and  options we have here. Not much we both agreed. He reaches for the prescription pad;  Could you please give us a three months appointment? Why? I mumbled something. I did not tell him that I wanted to be able to buy up to two bottles of Epilim syrup. You must be wondering why. Hm.., one has to be smart. For Ziim’s seizure management, I am going by the plan of the consultant  in LUTH, he has taken her off tegretol and increased her dosage of Epilim to 9mls daily given twice. It means that she requires about a bottle of 300mls monthly. Luth sells a bottle for about three thousand naira while Oshodi sells same bottle for one thousand two hundred and fifty naira so for the price of one, you buy two at Oshodi and still have change. I do not know why that of Luth is a lot more expensive, I have critically looked at both and they are just the same. He writes the prescription, thank you. Now you know why I keep the appointment here.

By 9.20a.m, we were done with buying drugs and booking appointment!!!! Ordinarily, by this time the doctors would just be settling in!! As I made to leave, one parent asked; madam, are you not staying for the party? No o, I did not know about the party, I have things to do. Another parent was leaving with her daughter, I offered them a ride to the bus stop, then I asked if she was not staying for the party. Ha, I did not know, I am not interested, can you imagine, because they are having a party they attended to us quickly, the doctors were here on time too, before, this is about the time they come in. Hm.. just because the minister is coming.

We got to the bus stop, she steps out of the car, thank you aunty she said. It’s nothing, I hope there will be a party when next we come. Hm.. that’s a  Christmas party, Christmas comes only once a year, so be ready for the usual long wait when next. I smiled, we waved good bye. As I drove home I was thinking;  yes Christmas comes once a year, but is that really true? I wondered and I am still wondering. What really is Christmas? Hm… I think it should be a daily act, act of sharing, showing love, kindness, consideration and those “acts” that make us Christ like. Just wondering and would like to know your thought.

 

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

One thought on “Is Christmas once a year?

  1. […] a chance. Apart from the family commitment, we were running short of her Epilim which is my main reason for going […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

