Preaching to the Converted

 Ha, you know CP affects each child differently. Each child’s story is different.  You do know also that CP could be mild, moderate  or severe and this will definitely affect how the child responds to therapies. Then there may be some  secondary conditions as well as other co-mitigating factors which contribute to the child’s impairment, like the child could have seizures, like Chizzy here. Again, the type of seizures and their severity vary. Every child is unique in h/her presentation.

Turning to the medical students who were present in the consulting room, he continues; CP is a neurological condition whose management is long and the results very slooow, thus mummies often tend to feel this way. But the good thing is that the children  most times respond to therapies. Positive results are seen, often not in the way we expect, for instance, this child here, (gesturing at Ziim) though not able to do much in terms of motor functions, but the fact that she is very much environmentally aware is a huge improvement. Not that you should treat anybody anyhow, but what it means is that whatever you do to her she is aware and she knows.

For the benefit of the medical students I added; there are a number of other “improvements that may not be easily seen, for instance, not long ago, we would have gone through at least three or four bibs since we came into this room, but we have been in the hospital since about 8. am (it was about 10.30 am then) and we still have not put on a bib, her drooling has reduced so considerably that I am beginning to think that it will stop completely sometime soon. Her sight was in question, actually, at seven months she was said to be blind, but here she is today.

Why did you let me give that lecture to my students before you started pointing out the positives? It sounded like I was preaching to the converted. I think she is, actually, I know she is doing well considering where we are coming from. Yes Prof. I know, it’s just that sometimes I cannot help wondering if we are making any progress at all.

Ziim and I were at the neuro clinic, LUTH yesterday. As always, there were a lot people. As I sat waiting for the doctors to arrive, I scanned the children, picking out the ones with CP. I could not help observing  that Ziim was the oldest among them. All the children I saw were a lot younger, most on  first time visit, that means babies. I kept wondering why. This is always the situation most time we come. Sometimes, I see older ones that have achieved some form of walking, often those with either diplegia or hemiplegia. I could not help wondering where those with quadriplegia are, those who have been classified in level 4/5 like Ziim are. I particularly look out for those we started the journey clinic with some seven years ago. More like; where are our class mates? Have they graduated and left only us in the class?

These were the questions in my mind as we were called into the consulting room. We were fortunate to be seen by the consultant in charge, who  better than him to ask the question. I asked him, wondering if we missed the clinic the day they got cured. How come I do not see them, my child seems to be the only older chid I see within that class of level 5 GMFCS

He started by saying that most of them stop coming. (he did not say why), but I think I know why or part of why…that is a subject of another post. Then he gave that brief lecture above which he ended by saying that he felt like preaching to the already converted. Of course this is because he knows what I do.

True, I may be converted, but it felt good hearing the “sermon” again. Being “converted” often does not stop those feelings from coming to mind, wondering why those hands and legs have refused to respond to all the “urgings” even if they fail to respond to therapies. I suppose that is part of why the priests are ever in the church, not just to convert the unconverted, but to help the converted keep faith. That sermon from the professor yesterday, though did not change the level of Ziim’s CP class, but it helped me to keep faith. That he took time to “preach” to me what he knows I already know helped me a lot and started my week good.

convert

Image

One thought on “Preaching to the Converted

  1. very good write up. Keep the candle burning :):):)

    Like

Leave a Reply

